Speaker Biographies

One of the key aspects of the NNN is the network of professionals eager to help others in promoting education that integrates quantitative skills across all disciplines and at all levels. Here we provide very brief bios of some of our NNN members who are available to serve as speakers or consultants. Please contact the individuals directly if you wish to engage them at your own institution.


Eric Gaze, Bowdoin College
egaze@bowdoin.edu Eric Gaze directs the Quantitative Reasoning (QR) program at Bowdoin College, he is a past chair of SIGMAA-QL (2010-12), a board member of the NNN (2010-13), and NNN President (2014-now). He ...

Neil Lutsky, Carleton College
nlutsky@carleton.edu Neil Lutsky helped develop Carleton College's FIPSE-funded Quirk (Quantitative Inquiry, Reasoning, and Knowledge) initiative, an across the curriculum approach to promoting quantitative ...

Nathan Grawe, Carleton College
ngrawe@carleton.edu Nathan Grawe is Professor of Economics at Carleton College where he has helped lead the Quantitative Inquiry, Reasoning, and Knowledge (QuIRK) initiative. He has spoken at numerous ...

Corri Taylor, Wellesley College
ctaylor1@wellesley.edu Corri Taylor directs the Quantitative Reasoning Program at Wellesley College. She has advised dozens of colleges and universities in their development of QR programs, courses, and assessment ...

Stuart Boersma, Central Washington University
boersmas@cwu.edu Stuart Boersma, Professor of Mathematics at Central Washington University, has lead several workshops on "Teaching Quantitative Reasoning with the News" for college instructors as well as ...

Donna Sundre, CARS, James Madison University
sundredl@jmu.edu Donna L. Sundre is the Executive Director of James Madison University's Center for Assessment and Research Studies, the largest higher education assessment center in the United States. Dr. ...

Sue Mente, Alverno College
Sue.Mente@alverno.edu Sue Mente is the Assistant Director of Instructional Services at Alverno College. She coordinates the Quantitative Literacy across the Curriculum program and writes curriculum for ...

Bernie Madison, University of Arkansas
bmadison@uark.edu Bernard L. Madison, professor of mathematics at the University of Arkansas and founding president of the National Numeracy Network, has worked in quantitative literacy (QL) for more than a decade. .

Milo Schield, Augsburg College
milo@pro-ns.net Milo Schield is a Professor at Augsburg College, Director of the W. M. Keck Statistical Literacy project, Vice President of the National Numeracy Network, US representative to the International ...

John R Jungck, University of Delaware
jungck@udel.edu What does it mean to observe, look, see? How does quantitative reasoning inform our appreciation of the visual world? I argue that we need to do re-visioning to develop insight. While my background ...

© National Numeracy Network
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software